New York is Beautiful

I’ve always loved nature, but I only started hiking when I lived in Colorado last summer. I used to putz around in Letchworth State Park during college, but I was never serious about it. It was mostly a means of getting away from campus in order to clear my head. So, when I came back from CO, home of 14,000-foot mountains, alpine lakes and over-rock scrambles, I thought I’d find disappointment in what New York had to offer.

I found out I was wrong.

Lake Placid, NY

After outings in Harriman State Park and in the Appalachians, I’ve learned that New York is home to some great hiking. I had to adjust my expectations, of course. I wasn’t going to need an ice axe in June to summit a mountain nor did I need worry about altitude sickness.  I found excellent views and challenging hikes by merely scratching the surface of what the state offers.

Harriman State Park, NY

The regular hiking season may be closing soon, but that just means it’s time to strap on the snowshoes or learn cross-country skiing. Better yet, I can rent snowmobiles, grab some paintball markers and re-enact Die Hard 2. Who’s with me?

Written while listening to: Alex – Girls (Vomit)

About Alex Fitzpatrick

Alex Fitzpatrick is Homepage Editor for Time.com, also covering technology, policy and cybersecurity. He previously covered politics and policy for Mashable. Fitzpatrick has a degree in International Relations from the State University of New York at Geneseo, where he also served as News Director and Station Manager for the campus radio station, 89.3 WGSU. Follow Fitzpatrick on Twitter at @AlexJamesFitz or email him at alex.fitzpatrick@timeinc.com.
This entry was posted in Hiking, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Post a comment!

