Ending 2011 and Beginning 2012

To say the past year has been a roller-coaster ride isn’t an adequate cliche. It’s been more like I was strapped to a NASA KC-135 Vomit Comet that didn’t ever land, and I’ve been vacillating between enjoying the weightlessness of free-fall and getting covered in my own puke on the upswings.

Awesome things that happened:

  • I spent a week in Italy, mostly on a whim.
  • I finally learned how to ice skate
  • I got my second tattoo
  • I graduated Geneseo with a B.A. and honors
  • WGSU beat GSTV in softball for the first time in, like, a real long time
  • I got my first DSLR
  • I drove to Colorado and spent a summer there, hiked in the Rockies and made some excellent friends
  • Went to my first MLS game
  • Went to Bermuda and did a bunch of kayaking
  • Started at Mashable
  • Got a place in NYC

That’s a pretty great list for only a year of existence.

The looming shadow over all of this is really my grandpa’s passing. It remains incredibly difficult to even process that I don’t get to spend any more Saturdays with Pa, but I think he’d be pretty damn proud of this list and where I’m headed.

Here’s what I’m shooting for in 2012:

  • Kick inhuman amounts of ass as a reporter with Mashable
  • Settle in to the NYC life with Erin
  • Visit Peru and Iceland
  • Learn to Ski. Or snowboard. Either one.
  • Keep reading prolifically
  • See more shows and keep up with new albums. I slacked on this one in the later half of 2011.
  • Keep learning. Always.

2012: Bring it on, bring it on, bring it on.

 

About Alex Fitzpatrick

Alex Fitzpatrick is Homepage Editor for Time.com, also covering technology, policy and cybersecurity. He previously covered politics and policy for Mashable. Fitzpatrick has a degree in International Relations from the State University of New York at Geneseo, where he also served as News Director and Station Manager for the campus radio station, 89.3 WGSU. Follow Fitzpatrick on Twitter at @AlexJamesFitz or email him at alex.fitzpatrick@timeinc.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Post a comment!

