I Killed a Mouse

I killed a mouse last night. Or, more accurately, I set up a trap filled with delicious peanut butter that, in turn, killed the mouse.

I’ve been thinking about it all day. It wasn’t very Buddhist of me, but I’m not Buddhist, so I’m not sure that matters. I wanted the little guy out of my home, because he was eating my favorite chips and he might’ve been carrying the Black Death. If I could’ve captured and released him peacefully outside, I would’ve – but the little bugger was quick on his tiny feet.

At the end of the day, all I know is that if I was rummaging around a strange room in search of a spoonful of Skippy’s, I’d be mighty upset if I met the end of my days just before that sweet, sweet peanut butter touched my lips.

What can I do to offset this karmatic unbalance? Plant a tree? Buy a box of Girl Scout Cookies? Help me out, Internet.

About Alex Fitzpatrick

Alex Fitzpatrick is Homepage Editor for Time.com, also covering technology, policy and cybersecurity. He previously covered politics and policy for Mashable. Fitzpatrick has a degree in International Relations from the State University of New York at Geneseo, where he also served as News Director and Station Manager for the campus radio station, 89.3 WGSU. Follow Fitzpatrick on Twitter at @AlexJamesFitz or email him at alex.fitzpatrick@timeinc.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Killed a Mouse

  1. Rahim Tariq says:

    In the words of Blake Griffin: “Accidentally hit a squirrel yesterday in my car. Feel so guilty I could barely sleep. Casey Anthony is a monster.”

    I believe the guilt you feel is karmatic balance enough.

    /sidenote, my other idea was a longwinded, detailed analysis of how the mouse violated sovereignty of apartment, and was righteously and legally crushed by the international community of your pantry.

  2. Alex,
    I totally get how guilty you feel for killing a mouse. You have a heart! Nothing wrong about that! Do you have an email I can reach you in?

    Thanks!
    Jessica
    tirta_jessica@yahoo.com

  3. Aurora says:

    Awww, poor mouse! That’s one thing I have, I never have the guts to kill (or set traps!) any animal or insect, no matter how disgusting or harmful it may be 😛 It’s a good thing I still live with my parents, but once I’m on my own, I have no idea what I’m gonna do…I’ll probably get a husband so that he can kill the cockroaches for me 😛 hahahahhaha

What do you think? Post a comment!

